Friday, November 4, 2011
Is it normal to give pets away as a punishment?
I am 14, and I am usually a good kid. I have A LOT of animals, but I take very good care of them. I have a big walk-in closet, it could be a tiny room, and my animal cages are all arranged neatly and are kept very clean. I have 3 hedgehogs, 2 rabbits, 2 sugar gliders, and 2 cats. Whenever I am sitting or watching TV, my cats come sit on my lap and I pet them, play with them, love them, and keep them well groomed. Everyday, I take out this huge small animal pen and take out my hedgehogs and rabbits, playing with them for at least an hour. I carry my sugar gliders around in a pouch for about two hours a day, and play with them for about 1, sense they need so much attention. All of my animals, are extremely well-loved, well-cared for, played with, cages kept clean and food and water always filled. Also, I almost always do my chores, my room is clean 90% of the time and when it's not it get cleaned pretty quickly. Today, my mom told me to have the kitchen cleaned by the time she got back from her errands, which lasted about 2 hours. After about 20 minutes, a special came on TV, so I started watching TV and didn't have hardly anything done. She came and turned the Tv off, said "Get it done now," and I said "No, I'm watching this!" And my mom says, " If you don't start now, you will not get an allowance ever and you will never get your phone until you pay for it yourself (I was planning on getting a phone in the near future with my own money) so I said, "okay, then I still get my phone because I was already buying it with my own money, (my Christmas present this year was $300 spending money, and so far I have only received $200, so we agreed I would purchase the phone with a portion of the money I had not received.) And she says, "That was a gift, so I can take it back whenever I please." I got so mad at this, that I went and took two shirts taht I had given her as a gift, which she had never worn, and said, "Fine, these were a gift, so I'm taking them back." At this point she starts screaming that I'm a sick phycotic freak, and she's gonna send me to a funny farm. I got so mad that I just kept watching TV. I watched it for an hour, then did the kitchen. ***NOTE*** I understand that this behaviour was worong, and I feel bad about what I did. But then, after I'd finished the kitchen, I was lying on my bed and she came in and said, "I am giving away ALL of your animals because you didn't start when I told you to, you can never have an allowance, or phone, and you are grounded for the rest of 09." I think this is a crazy punishment. I could deal with the rest, but i Can'T deal with her giving away my animals, because next to my friends and sometimes family I love them more than anything in the world, and I would basically die if this is to happen. I know I need to be puniched, but as I did the chore soon afterwords I thin kmaybe grounding for two weeks or a month would be more reasonable. Please tell me what you think.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment